Permanent and Irrevocable Eternal Life

Dear Blog friends,

We now have a regular Domain name which is www.bibleresourceman.com  .  We plan to make our site more user friendly in that we plan to put an index to list the various articles.  At present, we simply have the articles that are of like nature and subject matter connected.  For instance, all the book of Hebrews articles are connected under  01 Hebrews – Challenge.  There are currently a total of eight articles.  One of the articles is  THE WARNING IN COLOSSIANS 1:21–23 which is not from Hebrews, but which is a similar problem passage.   Some people believe that this verse teaches a potential loss of salvation.

All of the articles connected under the  01 Hebrews – Challenge are specifically dealing with the problem  passages in Hebrews except the one article from Colossians.  We have numbered the articles under each category thusly 01, 02, 03 etc.   The reason for this is that computer language has an organizing order.  The order is a,b,c,d etc.  and 1,2,3 etc.   The reason that we put 01, 02,03 is because when we come to 10 it will through the order off if each preceding number does not contain the two space number 01, 02, 03 etc.  Also if you are numbering folders on your computer this is likewise the ordering sequence.  Also note that !, @,#,%,^, & which are the characters above the numbers on the keyboard have a sequence which is before the numbers and the alphabet.

Hopefully, I am not talking about too much computerize.  I started with computers in 1980 prior to the IBM – Microsoft computers so I somewhat learned when computers were not user friendly and had no folders or icons.  My son is now in the computer field and he now teaches me.   I am not a techy, but my son is.  I have contented myself with being basically an educated user.

I have been a serving Christian for 50 years and plan to continue.   I am an ordained minister but do not promote this matter.  Some of you that read this Blog are Christians.  Hopefully, you will pray for those involved with this ministry.  We mentioned that we have another blog connected with this one http://www.jxministries.wordpress.com The jx stands for Judaeo-Christian with J standing for Judaeo and X stands for Christian.  We did this in order to shorten the name for internet purposes. Currently, we have no information on Judaeo-Christian Ministries blog site, but we plan to post a Mission statement, Statement of Purpose, Doctrinal statement etc. in the near future.

One of our current goal for www.bibleresourceman.com is too increase the traffic for the glory of God and for the benefit of believers and non-believers.  I have removed all but two of my prior posts which are directly connected with the matter of salvation.  I have retain these two because I believe that it is important that every individual have access to an explanation of God’s plan of salvation.  The lengthy article by Charles H. Spurgeon All of Grace  has been moved to   04 All of Grace  under 01 Salvation.

We now need now need to do some work of putting tags on articles and advertising the site by various means.  Of all the articles which we believe will be most beneficial to Christians is the group of articles on Hebrews.  These deal with the five problem passages in Hebrews and have plagued the Christian community for over 1900 plus years.  The first author that I know who dealt with this subject adequately is J.B. Rowell in his article which was published in Bibliotheca Sacra June-July 1937 issue.

When J. Vernon McGee was planning to preach on the book of Hebrews he flew to Victoria, British Columbia to discuss this issue with Dr. J. B. Rowell.  I learned of the article from the Bible teacher that was teaching on the book of Hebrews at the Bible Memory Association (BMA) camp in Michigan.  He was a teacher at Multnomah school of the Bible.  He told me where I could find the article so I went down to Moody Bible Institute which had the total collection of Bibliotheca Sacra and found and xeroxed a copy of the article.  The article title is EXPOSITION OF HEBREWS SIX “An Age-Long Battleground. 

You will note that I posted a page entitled 05 Hebrews 6 – An Age-Long Battle Ground! It has the same name as J.B. Rowell’s article.  I did this because the actual title of the article could be misleading to someone that that doesn’t know better.  The original title is Conditional Security:   Hebrews 6, which seems to indicate that the author does not believe in eternal security.  However, he is probably just dealing with the false view of Conditional Security.  If I can find another appropiate title I will re-post it was such.  Out of all the articles on Hebrews 6:4-6 this is the best and the most well-written.

Since that time I have located a large number of biblical scholars that now hold this interpretation of the Hebrews passages.  Dr. M.R. De haan had preached on this subject in the 1950s and had put these in a book on Hebrews.  The pastor of my little home town had a copy of this book which I read approximately in 1962.  Someone has told me that Robert Govett held a similar viewpoint on Hebrews.  I have yet to secure and read his book.  From comments by others it appears that Robert Govett had only a partial understanding of this problem.

Let me ask you a personal question.  If you knew and know that you have a permanent and irrevocable Eternal Life wouldn’t it make your life more bearable and ultimately more fruitful. My first question after I received that Lord Jesus as my Saviour, was “How long will this last?”  Why did I ask this question?  Because I considered myself a great sinner and knew that I could not keep myself.   I had a great fear of losing what I had received.  So for years, even though I believed in Eternal Security based on logic and the clear statement in John 10:27-30 I continued to look for a correct interpretation of Hebrews.  The bibliography that I have posted on this blog site contains many of those who hold what I believe to be the correct interpretation on Hebrews and the Hebrew problem passages.

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. 29 My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and my Father are one.  John 10:27-30 (KJV)

These verse were to me a final authority.  Jesus himself spoke them.  He spoke clearly and would not deceive anyone. And logically speaking the word Eternal Life means just that Eternal forever Life.  If you received Eternal Life today and lost it tomorrow, it would not have been Eternal Life.  Because the very definition of Eternal Life is Life with God forever.   Yes, I know that Eternal life is more that a matter of time only.  It is both a quantity of time and also a quality of existence, a glorious existence in the presence of God.  Why do I believe that a person, if truly saved cannot lose his eternal life?  Because it is based on the reliableness of God’s promise and character.  If I can lose my eternal life  then Jesus Christ could go to Hell.   Jesus Christ has paid for all sin, not just my sins prior to my conversion.  When Jesus Christ died on the Cross for sin, I was not even born yet, but He paid for my sin and sins which at that time were all future.  He also died for the sin and sins of all mankind, even those who lived before he died.

No one actually goes to Hell because of their sin or sins.  If you read the Scriptures closely, you will realize that there is only one reason that a person goes to Hell.  A person only goes to Hell because he has not received the remedy that God has provided for his sin.  The one sin that takes a person to Hell is “unbelief” John 3:18; 16:9.

18 He that believeth on him (Jesus Christ) is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.  John 3:18 (KJV)

9 Of sin, because they believe not on me;  John 16: 9 (KJV)

It was this sin that was the cause of mankind’s fall in the beginning.  Eve did not believe that God meant what He said when He said, “In the day that you eat thereof, you will surely die.”

17 But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die. Gen 2:17 (KJV)

3 But of the fruit of the tree which is in the midst of the garden, God hath said, Ye shall not eat of it, neither shall ye touch it, lest ye die.  Gen 3:3 (KJV)

Eve was deceived by Satan.  Notice how Eve actually changed the command that God gave to them.

First, she changed to word of God. She changed the certainity from “surely” (certainly) to “lest” “perhaps or possibly” you will die.

Second, she added to the word of God.  She added “neither shall ye touch it” which is no where indicated that God said this.

Third, she twisted the word of God.  She twisted the word of God by adding to it and by changing it.

That is just the same method that Satan uses today.  He wants to keep people from the Word of God.  Or if he cannot do that he wants to corrupt their understanding of the Word of God.  Roman Catholic Church for 1500 years basically prevented true Christians from reading the Word of God in their own language.  It was unlawful to read the Bible in any other language than Latin.  If they did they many times were burnt at the stake.  Also, it was illegal to translate the Bible in to any other language.  The old deceiver was definitely involved in this matter.  Many Christians and children of Christians were killed and burnt at the stake.

If you doubt this I would encourage you to read about the history of Bible translation.  You might want to read the article 08 Latin Vulgate Only  which is connected to  01 Translations.

The internet is full of information regarding this matter.   You ask me “Am I anti-Roman Catholic?”  I am not against any certain person, but I do believe that the Roman Catholic Church is not the one true Church and is full of false deceptive doctrinal teaching even today.   For that matter, many Protestants Churches and Denominations are not sound in biblical teaching.   You need to use the command of the Apostle Paul,

21 Prove all things; hold fast that which is good.” 1 Thess 5:21 (KJV)

You should be a Berean Christian!  People in Berea did not even take the word of the Apostle Paul.

11  These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so. Acts 17:11 (KJV)

One of the mottos that I have on my business card is just this “Prove all things, hold fast that which is good.” 1 Thes. 5:21

We believe that the Holy Scriptures are the final authority in all matters related to Faith and Practice.  We continue to search the Scriptures daily for ourselves and for others.

We also recently posted a page Guidelines for the Understanding of the Scriptures by J. Vernon McGee which is a great guide to understanding and interpreting the Holy Scriptures.

Guidelines is connected to 01 Christian Resources as 02a Guidelines for the Understanding of the Scriptures.

May God bless your today and forever!

Rev. Thomas L. Clark – Phil. 3:14

Leave a Reply

