Work and Witness for the Lord

Dear Friends,

During the last several months I have not posted any articles.  Sorry for my lack of productivity.   I was out of town for about a month and a half getting my dental work done in my home town.  In the Chicago area dental work is very costly.  Even though I have good dental insurance, I need to get my work done at a lower cost.  For example I needed a large number of teeth removed.  My teeth have been bad for years so I decided to have my dental work done.   In the Chicago area I had my teeth checked and received a price quote on the dental work to be done.   It would cost me $177.00 to pull each tooth.   In my home area there is a good dentist who had previously had his dental practice in Kansas City Missouri.   I called him on the phone and ask him how much he charged for removing a tooth.   He said he charged $55.00 unless it was very difficult to pull the tooth.   I decided to visit my home town and stay for awhile to visit my sisters and other long time friends both Christian and non-Christian.  Even though my dental insurance would have paid my dental work in Chicago, I would not have any left after pulling the teeth to put in an upper set of artificial teeth.

This dentist was not only an excellent and trustworthy dentist, I like his personality.  I will have to return another time to finish my dental work on my bottom teeth.

While I was down there, I asked the Dentist to go to church with me.  He agreed and I picked him up and we went to one of the good Baptist churches in my home town.  All of the Baptist churches in my home town as well as the surrounding area are sound in the Faith and have reliable preachers.

My home town has shrunk in population from around 2000 to 1850.   But there is a large lake near the town which now probably has 200 or more people living there.  This might account for the decreased population in my home town.

Suggestion!  You might want to check out some small town away from the large city to get some of your dental work done.  And other type work.   Not everything is cheaper in a small town.   For instance, the cost of groceries is generally higher in my home town.   The auto repair costs are about the same as Chicago.

And my situation may be different than other people.  I have now been retired for over 10 years and have a free place to stay in my home town.  The most expensive item is the gas money to travel back and forth 400 miles (one way).

My son, his wife and 5 children came down with him and my son and his three boys went fishing.   We caught about 30 plus blue gills and 5 nice sized bass. The only problem with fishing is cleaning the fish afterwards.  However, the three boys were thrilled with all the fish they caught.

At present I am in the process of refinancing my home to a lower interest rate.   I will be able to lower my current interest rate about 1% with no closing costs except an appraisal fee.

As a Christian I believe that all I have and all that I possess is the Lord’s and I am just His steward.   I try to be a good steward with all my resources.  I fact this website is totally free except my son purchased a 5 years domain name bibleresourceman.com for me.

I had been thinking of what name to name a website and one day when I was online the wordpress.com site popped up on the side of a web page.  My daughter-in-law had told me that I could get a free blog site from wordpress.com.   So I signed up with wordpress.com and the name of the site just popped into my mind.  I didn’t like the sound of “the Bible Answer man” so I used “bibleresourceman.wordpress.com”.  I explain in a place on my site that I am “a bible resource man” because I am not the only bible resource man.   I am one among many bible resource men.

However, I have been collecting excellent biblical articles for years and so now I have a place to share them with other Christians and unbelievers.  I am now 70 years old and have many health problems and do not know how many more years the Lord will give me.  I want to use my remaining years serving the Lord.  I also want to be a good example and good influence on my son, his wife, and five grandchildren.

Abraham is a good example of a godly father.  This is what the LORD said about him.

19 For I know him, that he will command his children and his household after him, and they shall keep the way of the Lord, to do justice and judgment; that the Lord may bring upon Abraham that which he hath spoken of him.  Gen 18:19 (KJV)

We should plan to raise godly children who will be an honour to God.

God saved me at the age of 19 and since that time I have continued to serve the Lord.  I completed Bible college with a double major: 1) a major in biblical studies 136 semester hours, and 2) a second major in English Literature.    I had a goal of making nothing but “A”s in my biblical studies.  This I did.  I took after 12 semester hours in Seminary while there.   Then I came to Chicago, Ilinois.    I took additional courses in areas of education:  12 hours at Jane Addams Graduate school in Social work, and approximately 12 hours at Moody Bible Institute in courses that I did not take at the Bible College,  and additional courses in education at Northern Teachers college, and then approx. 12 hours at Trinity Evangelical Seminary in Deerfield.

Even though I did not complete a Seminary degree, I have a well rounded biblical education.

My English Literature teacher in college allowed me to do most of my term papers on biblical areas.   I did a term paper on John Bunyan, John Milton, and John Donne, the poet preacher and other biblically related subjects.

I worked for seven years in a German church in Chicago.   Then I pastored  a Baptist Church in Humboldt Park in Chicago for about 4 years.   I now attend a good Bible Church in the suburbs of Chicago.

My son and wife and the five grandchildren are my pride and joy.   My son is active in his church and the children are active in AWANA (Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed).  My son was in AWANA for about 4 years in a good Bible church in Chicago.  He has continued to work with AWANA for many years.  Personally I think AWANA is the best Christian Organization for youth, especially for boys.

A friend and I go out soulwinning and witnessing every Friday morning in Chicago and have continue for approximately 4 years.

We believe every Christian should be a witness and soulwinner.   Jesus command us to “Go into all the World and preach the gospel (good news) to every living person. Mark 16:15     There are many ways to preach (proclaim) the Good News of free eternal life.   We talk to people about receiving the Lord and eternal life and we also distribute Christian literature (tracts and Gospels of John) about free salvation.

Evangelizing does not mean that we win people to the Lord.   We sow the seed and God is responsible to make it grow.  To evangelize is simply “to proclaim the good news of free eternal life” and expect God to bring salvation to all who believe. 

6 I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase. 7 So then neither is he that planteth any thing, neither he that watereth; but God that giveth the increase. 8 Now he that planteth and he that watereth are one: and every man shall receive his own reward according to his own labour. 1 Cor 3:6-8 (KJV)

So we are successful even when a person does not immediately get saved.  We have done the will of God in that we have obeyed Him in proclaiming His word of Salvation.

Many churches neglect promoting witnessing and soul winning.   My friend and I hardly every see anyone witnessing or soul winning in the Chicago area.   This is a sad thing that churches are not obedient to the Lord’s command. 

If you would like to be obedient to the Lord’s command we will send you some material and ideas about witnessing and soul winning.

30 The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life; and he that winneth souls is wise.  Prov 11:30 (KJV)

3 And they that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars for ever and ever.  Dan 12:3 (KJV)

There are many ways to witness and win souls to the Lord.

Please write me or call me 773-934-0592

If your church does not promote witnessing and soul winning you might be better off changing to a church that does.  My son, wife, and children recently changed to a church that promotes soul winning and witnessing.   The church he was attending had good preaching but did not have an emphasis on evangelism, soul winning, and witnessing.

Below is the website of a good Bible memory ministry.

http://scripturememoryfellowship.org

Every Christian must be an effective witness for the Lord.

If you are a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ please pray for us in our witnessing and soul winning.

Rev. Thomas L. Clark – Phil. 3:14

 

Leave a Reply

