11 Seven “I AMs”

Seven “I AMs”

The Seven “I AMs” in the Gospel of John

John 6:35 And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

John 8:12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

John 10:9 I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.

John 10:11 I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep.

John 11:25 Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live:

John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

John 15:1 I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman.

If you will note correctly each one of the “I AMs” has an adjective description of how Jesus meets a particular need.

Try to figure out what needs each of these I AMs are directed toward.


Also note that Jesus claimed to be “I am” before Abraham existed.

Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham wasI am. John 8:58


The Seven Sign-Miracles of the Gospel of John

John 20:30 And many other signs truly did Jesus in the presence of his disciples, which are not written in this book:

John 20:31 But these are written, that ye might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing ye might have life through his name.

The Greek word for sign is “seimos” from which we get sign, signify, signification, seismology etc.    Seismology is the science that studies the earthquakes.   Remember the recent earthquake near Ottawa,Illinois which registered 4.5 on the Richter scale.

Greek:4592. semeion, say-mi’-on; neut. of a presumed der. of the base of Grk;4591; an indication, espec. cer. or supernat.:-miracle, sign, token, wonder.

1.               Jesus transforms water into wine in Cana of Galilee – John 2:1-11

2.               Jesus heals the Nobleman’s son – John 4:46-53

3.               Jesus heals the paralytic man – John 5:1-94.

4.              Jesus feeds the five thousand – John 6:4-135.

5.             Jesus walks on water – John 6:16-21

6.             Jesus heals the man that was born blind – John 9:1-126.

7.            Jesus raises Lazarus from the dead – John 11:30-448.

8.           Jesus raises from the dead – John 20

Notice if you count the resurrection of Jesus there are eight miraclesThe number seven in biblical numerology signifies divine completeness and the number eight signifies a new beginning.


One thought on “11 Seven “I AMs”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s